Tchaikovsky, Mozart & Lopez-Bellido with Buffalo Philharmonic

Jimmy Lopez-Bellido and Laura looking at photos from the Altered Landscape collection.

The quintessential love theme, Tchaikovsky’s Romeo and Juliet Fantasy took ten years to achieve its final symphonic poem form. Pianist Ying Li offers Mozart’s brooding Piano Concerto No. 20, cavorting between ‘storm and stress’ and rhythmic energy. Altered Landscape was commissioned by guest conductor Laura Jackson, music director of the Reno (NV) Symphony Orchestra, to explore through music the role of humanity on the changing planet.

Laura Jackson, conductor
Ying Li, piano

TCHAIKOVSKY Romeo and Juliet, Overture Fantasy
MOZART Piano Concerto No. 20
JIMMY LOPEZ-BELLIDO Symphony No. 3, “Altered Landscape”