Reno Phil Classix #2: Nakamatsu Plays Brahms

Pianist Jon Nakamatsu performing with orchestra.

He’s back! Audience favorite pianist Jon Nakamatsu returns to Reno once again to perform the Brahms Piano Concerto No. 1 – surging with youthful fire, tender passion, and thunderous power. Written when Brahms was only 25 years old, the piano concerto is one of music history’s most monumental and stunning creative achievements. The program opens with a composition from Nigerian-American composer Nkeiru Okoye, a response to the 9/11 tragedy. In her words, “It was a march to acknowledge those fighting on our behalf of our safety, and yet a sparkling celebration of life for those who continue living.” Sibelius No. 6 speaks to the soul while evoking the change in seasons due to its interplay with the listener’s senses. Performing it in Reno is a dream come true for Laura.

Nkeiru OKOYE: Voices Shouting Out
Jean SIBELIUS: Symphony No. 6
Johannes BRAHMS: Piano Concerto No. 1